Building & Development Consultancy

Bluefox (Loughborough) Ltd   Reg Number: 06309920

PO Box 8691  Loughborough  Leicestershire  LE11 9EB

tel: 07912 120052  web:

The Code for Sustainable homes is a rating system from one to six for the sustainability of a new dwelling.  These are mandatory of Government funded housing and are increasingly required as a Planning requirement.

We will be there to offer advice throughout every stage of the process, right from the outset to ensure compliance with the code and to achieve the desired level of certification.

It is important that the Code Assessor is brought into the process at the earliest possible stage to ensure that the proposed design and specification can achieve the required code.  It can be very costly to make alterations retrospectively in order to gain extra code points.


Our first job will be to produce pre-assessment reports and evaluate current levels of sustainability, as well as up grading and plans that fall below the required standard.


We will then consult you on the overall code method, as well as outlining the numerous options available to you in order to achieve the level of choice.

Design stage report

After that we will assess the design specifications before producing a detailed design stage report. If you are facing and complications during planning we will intervene to help resolve these.


Once you are satisfied, we then take care of the registration of the developments and submit them to the appointed service provider.

Post construction stage report

When the construction is completed, we will carry out a post construction stage review and will refer to the design stage report to ensure that the dwelling has been built in accordance with this. This will be documented in a post construction stage report.

Final Certification

Finally, when the parties involved are happy that the project has been completed to the required standard, the home will receive its code level and the final certificate will be issued.


What is the code for sustainable homes?

The code for sustainable homes was introduced in England in April 2007.The code is intended to improve the overall sustainability of new homes by setting a single framework within which the home building industry can design and construct homes to higher environmental standards.

From May 2008 those selling new homes will be required to provide information to any prospective purchaser on the sustainability of the home. Where a home is designed and built to the code and assessed against it, a code certificate will be provided. Otherwise, a statement of non assessment (a nil-rated certificate) will be provided. Assessment procedures are based on BRE’s Eco Homes system which depends on a network of specifically trained and accredited independent assessors, such as code star homes.

How is it measured?

The code measures the sustainability of a home against nine design categories, rating the ‘whole home’ as a complete package. The design categories are:

Each category includes a number of environmental issues which have a potential impact of the issues can be assessed against a performance target and awarded one or more credits.

The code uses a sustain rating system – indicated by ‘stars’, to communicate then overall performance of a home. A home can achieve a sustainability rating from one to six depending on the extent to which it has achieved code standards. Energy efficiency and categories also have minimum standards that must be achieved at every level of the code, recognising the importance to the sustainability of and home.

Achieving a sustainability rating

The sustainability rating which a home achieves represents its overall performance across the nine code design categories. Minimum standards exist from a number of categories- theses must be achieved to gain a one star (*) sustainability rating. Energy efficiency and water efficiency categories also have minimum standards that must be achieved at every level of the code, recognising their importance to the sustainability of any home.

Minimum standards

Mandatory minimum performance standards are set for some issues. For of these a single mandatory requirement is set which must be met, whatever code level is sough. Credits are not awarded for these issues. Conformation that the performance requirements are met for all four is a minimum entry requirement for achieving a level 1 rating. The four un-credited issues are within:

If the mandatory minimum performance standard is met for the four un-credited issues two further mandatory issues need to be considered. The two issues with increasing mandatory minimum standards are

Weighting /credits

Weightings are applied to each category to adjust the relative credits. This is to reflect the contribution made by each category to the overall code. For example energy contributes 36.44 therefore the credits scored are multiplied by 1.26 pollution contributes 2.84 and therefore its credits are reduced by multiplying by 0.7.

The assessment process should proceed in a logical order through the environmental impact categories and issues.

If any of the standards for the four non-creditable issues are not met, then a zero rating will result regardless of the other credits achieved, including the creditable mandatory issues.

Total percentage points score and resulting code level

For every category, the number of credits achieved is divided by the total available and multiplied by the category weighting factor to give a percentage point score for the category. This number should be rounded down to two decimal places before the next step.

The rounded percentage point scores for each category are then summed to arrive at the total percentage points score for the dwelling. The total percentage point score must be rounded down to the nearest whole number.

The code level is then derived from the total percentage points according to the code level is represented on the certificate by an equivalent number of stars.

Code for Sustainable Home Assessors